Kisfaludy út 26.
Latitude and longitude:
Name: Castle of Szigliget
Phone number: +36
Monument: fortress, castle, palace, mansion
Open from: 1. January
Open till: 31. December
Opening hours: Mon-Sun:10:00-16:00
Attendability: during opening hours
Admission: Adult:600 HUF
Student: 300 HUF
Wheelchair accessible: no
Payment: Regional card, Cash only
Description: Ruin of a fortress on top of Castle Hill of 242 metres. the Castle was built by Favus Abbot of Pannonhalma, it was completed in 1262. A small village with a church had been developed under the Castle belongingto it as usual in the life of a border fortress. The Castle passed into royal proprietorship and then from 1521 for centuries it became the property of Tóti-Lengyel family. Upon the order of Emperor Lipót issued in 1702 the Castle was blow up.To protect its substance as well as to explore, a fund was started in 1991.
Architectural style: Romanesque